Placeholder

April 28, 2010 § Leave a comment

This week, I’m working to complete final projects from my first semester of school as well as preparing for a concert with the Longwood Symphony Orchestra, and I haven’t had much time to think about the blog. So, today I’ll just put up a few links:

Lorcan Dempsey at OCLC has a nice blog post about Netflix and their transition to Amazon Web Services. In particular, I liked his discussion about sourcing and scaling, which I have not heard discussed enough since beginning my MLIS.

The Puget Sound Symphony Orchestra plays its spring concert at Town Hall in Seattle on May 8th. PSSO is not only the most fun orchestra that I’ve had the opportunity to perform with, but their ticket prices are a steal.

Finally, a plug for the upcoming concert with the Longwood Symphony Orchestra, May 1st at Jordan Hall in Boston. Other than the one concert I subbed with the West Virginia Symphony (backing Kathy Mattea, a country singer), Longwood is easily the best orchestra I’ve had the privilege to share a stage with. Given a little rehearsal time, they might even edge out the West Virginia Symphony. Saturday’s concert includes Rachmaninov’s 3rd piano concerto featuring an excellent soloist, Philip Edward Fisher, and Carl Nielsen’s Symphony no. 4, “The Inextinguishable”.

Here’s Gustavo Dudamel discussing “The Inextinguishable”.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Placeholder at Senza Sord.

meta

